Device registration and inspections
Get items registered, inspected, and tested for accuracy
Our regular inspections ensure weights and measurements are accurate and reliable, protecting both consumers and businesses. This includes devices such as scales and price scanners, as well as packaged commodities.
Complete a placed in service report to notify us of any new devices (within 10 days of installation).
Complete our device registration form to register a new business or device.
Contact us by phone or email to schedule an inspection.
At least once a year, our inspectors inspect and test all commercial weighing and measuring devices for suitability, accuracy, and correctness. This includes, but is not limited to, scales ranging in size from very precise jewelry scales to large railroad track scales capable of weighing up to 300,000 pounds.
0 - 1,000 lbs
1,001 - 10,000 lbs
Over 10,000 lbs
What type of scale do I need to buy?
Scales must be NTEP Approved and suitable for your intended use. All NTEP Approved scales have a Certificate of Conformance number (CC#), which our office can verify for you. The type of scale you purchase should be suitable regarding the minimum and maximum capacity relative to the intended use. NTEP – Check to see if your scale is legal for trade .
Do I need a weighmaster license?
It depends on how your scale will be used. Consider:
Are you or your employees overseeing a scale being used to buy commodities from the public?
Are you or your employees overseeing a scale being used in non-retail sales?
Are you or your employees using a scale to issue a weight while not being the buyer or seller in a transaction?
Are you or your employees issuing weighments for hire?
If you answered "yes" to any of the above questions, then you or your employees need a weighmaster license. If you answered "no" to all questions, then you probably do not need a weighmaster license. If you are still unsure, contact us, and we can clarify for you.
Louisiana law requires all scanning devices be tested to ensure that prices are posted for items offered for sale and the prices are accurate.
Weights and Measures employees inspect scanners annually to verify that prices charged for scanned items reflect the advertised, posted, or displayed price for those items. When a scanned item produces a price over or under the advertised, posted, or displayed price, it is considered an error.
Number of scanners per location
More than 25
*Total cost per location, not per scanner.
Louisiana Law ( LRS 3:4607 ) requires Weights and Measures inspectors to inspect and test all scanning devices to ensure that prices are posted for items offered for sale and the prices are accurate.
Our inspectors annually conduct inspections/certifications of mass flow meters that are designed to measure the mass or mass and density of liquids used for industrial applications.
The annual registration fee: $250 per meter.
We conduct annual tests to determine compliance with distance and time tolerances of all commercial taxi meters that automatically calculate rates and indicate a charge for hire. Taxis must have their meters tested and sealed annually.
Taxicab registration fee per cab: $50 per meter
Our inspectors inspect packaged commodities in retail and wholesale establishments throughout Louisiana to determine whether they contain the amounts represented and whether they comply with the weights and measures law.
There is no charge for package inspections.